Event stream will begin

Alexi Kenney, Violin


Thursday, February 16, 2023, 7:30 PM EST


Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall


This event is currently available as part of a subscription package only. Single tickets will go on sale online only on Monday, August 1 and by phone on Tuesday, September 6.  Subscribe | Ticketing & COVID-19 Policies

he made it seem...as if this were the only possible way to play the music.”

—The New York Times

Concert Classics Series

About the Event

19th-century composer Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov once said that “all modern music owes everything to J. S. Bach.” In the hands of 28-year-old trailblazing violinist Alexi Kenney, the recipient of a 2016 Avery Fisher Career Grant and 2020 Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award, this concept takes on an extended timelessness within the framework of 21st-century music. The spiritual overtones of Bach’s music transform within the echoes of chanting monks incorporated into Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Du Yun’s recent work for violin and tape; Bach’s ability to speak to the universality of grief deepens the poignancy of Matthew Burtner’s musical meditation on climate change and the future of life on our planet. As Mr. Kenney thoughtfully shares: “my hope is that through the course of the program, each piece enlivens those around it, framing Bach in a new light and placing contemporary violin works in context—and showing that art need not be defined by era to express our shared humanity.”

PLEASE NOTE: All attendees will be required to show photo ID and proof that they are fully vaccinated against COVID-19 to the maximum extent, which now includes a booster shot for all eligible to receive it. Please read our COVID-19 policies in advance of attendance.

Read More About Event


Alexi Kenney Violin


  • "Shifting Ground"
  • J.S. Bach

    Adagio from Sonata in G minor, BWV 1001

  • Allemande from Partita No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004

    Allemande and Double from Partita No. 1 in B Minor, BWV 1002

    Grave from Sonata in A Minor, BWV 1003

    Largo from Sonata in C Major, BWV 1005

    Chaconne from Partita in D Minor, BWV 1004


  • Samuel Adams

    Playing Changes from Violin Diptych


    Allemande and Nocturne from X Suite

  • Du Yun

    Under a Tree, an udōtta for Violin and Tape


    Alla Fantasia


    New Commission for Solo Violin


    Elegy from Muir Glacier for Violin and Tape


    New Commission for Violin and Electronics


    Ciaconna, arr. Kenney


    INNI, Musica da Camera for Violin and 2-channel Electronics

Discover More Like This