Event stream will begin

Jupiter Ensemble

Thomas Dunford, Lute/Artistic Director
Lea Desandre, Mezzo-Soprano

Princeton University Concerts Debut


Thursday, March 30, 2023, 7:30 PM EDT


Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall


General: $25-40 | Student: $10

This event is also available as part of a discounted subscription package. Subscribe | Ticketing & COVID-19 Policies


Purchase this event at a discount as part of a curated subscription or make-your-own series package.


The overwhelming impression left by this mixed Vivaldi programme is of chamber music delightedly shared among friends..."


Concert Classics Series

About the Event

It is safe to say that you have never heard Vivaldi quite like this — reincarnated through the exuberant virtuosity of the young members of the Jupiter Ensemble. Led by “the Eric Clapton of the lute” (BBC Music Magazine) alongside a rising mezzo-soprano who “brings life and beauty to everything she touches” (The New York Times), the group boldly reimagines what an early music ensemble can be as they guide us through the vibrant landscape of Antonio Vivaldi’s baroque innovations. From exhilarating vocal works that dazzle through their stunningly beautiful finesse to fiery concertos for strings that make much of the western canon sound tame in comparison, the program promises to shatter all preconceptions of Vivaldi’s music and reacquaint you with this timeless composer in a completely new light.

Read More About Event


Thomas Dunford Lute/Artistic Director

Lea Desandre Mezzo-Soprano

Louise Ayrton Violin

Augusta McKay Lodge Violin

Manami Mizumoto Viola

Bruno Philippe Cello

Douglas Balliett Double Bass

Elliott Figg Harpsichord & Organ


  • All Vivaldi

  • “Vedro con mio diletto” from Il Giustino, RV 717
    “Armatae face et anguibus” from Juditha triumphans, RV 644
    Lute Concerto in C Major, RV 82
    “Cum dederit” from Nisi Dominus, RV 608
    Violin Concerto in F Minor, “L’Inverno” (Winter), RV 297
    Lute Concerto in D Major, RV 93
    “Gelido in ogni vena” from Farnace, RV 711
    “Gelosia, tu già rendi l’alma mia” from Ottone in Villa, RV 729
    Cello Concerto in G Minor, RV 416
    “Onde chiare che sussurrate” and “Scenderò, volerò, griderò” from Ercole su’l Termodonte, RV 710

View Digital Program

Discover More Like This