Event stream will begin

Takács String Quartet


Thursday, October 4, 2012, 8:00 PM EDT


Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall


$40, $30, $20 General;  $10, $5 Students
This concert is part of the Concert Classic Series. Subscriptions are still available. Click below to view the subscription options.

Concert Classics Series

About the Event

​The Takács has entered the pantheon of the world’s great string quartets, as evidenced by their hugely engaging performances and unique blend of drama, warmth and humor, as well as their recent appointment as Associate Artists of London’s prestigious Wigmore Hall. Takács “established itself as one of the world’s eminent string ensembles soon after its founding in 1975,” according to The New York Times, which termed their recent Carnegie Hall performance “utterly gripping.” Their program begins with one of Schubert’s last quartets and, marking the centenary of his birth, one by Britten, who in 1945 called it “the greatest advance that I have yet made.” The evening concludes with Dvořák’s “American” Quartet, which, during a visit to the Czech community in Spillville, Iowa, spilled out of the composer in a matter of days.

Read More About Event


SCHUBERT String Quartet No. 13 in A Minor, D. 804 (“Rosamunde”)
BRITTEN String Quartet No. 2 in C Major
DVOŘÁK String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, Op. 96 (“American”)

View Program Notes

Plan Your Visit

Get directions, see parking and accessibility info, download a seating charts, and more.

Learn More

Discover More Like This