Event stream will begin

Richard Goode, Piano & C.K. Williams, Poet


Sunday, March 9, 2014, 3:00 PM EDT


Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall


$45, $35, $20 General: $10, $5 Student.  Add this event to a Make Your Own Series and save 10%.  For tickets to this event only, buy online by using the links below or call University TIcketing at 609-258-9220.  They are open Monday – Friday, 12PM-6PM.

Special Events

About the Event

On the heels of the successful Princeton University Concerts collaboration of countertenor David Daniels and choreographer Mark Morris, two more superlative artists partner in 2014: Grammy-winning pianist Richard Goode and Pulitzer Prize-winning poet C.K. Williams. The New York Times calls the poetry-loving Mr. Goode “a poet of the piano,” while Paul Muldoon hails Mr. Williams, who has written of music as “this exaltation, this splendor, this bliss,” as “one of the most distinguished poets of his generation.”  Missing the partnership of these like-minded poets — a Princeton exclusive — would be tragic indeed.  

Please note that this concert was rescheduled from the 2012-2013 season and will be offered free to all subscribers who were originally holding a ticket to the concert on May 9, 2013.



Monday, March 10, 2014 10:00AM-12:00PM
Taplin Auditorium in Fine Hall

Richard Goode will work with three Princeton student pianists.  The class is free and open to the public. 

Read More About Event


A recital with poetry.

(Many people have asked which poems were read at this event, so we have listed them after the fact.  In addition to the ones listed below, Mr. Wiliiams also read “Sixty” (not yet published) and as an encore he read “All at Once” (also not yet published).  “All at Once” was paired with Janacek’s
“Goodnight” from On an Overgrown Path.

SCHUMANN  Davidsbündlertänze, Op. 6, No. 9

“Wood” and “Back”
MOZART  Ein Kleine Gigue, K. 574

SCHUMANN “Des Abends” from Fantasiestücke, Op. 12

“My Mother’s Lips”  and “Swifts”
CHOPIN Scherzo from Sonata No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 58

BRAHMS Capriccio in C Major, Op. 76, No. 8

“Invisible Mending”
BACH Sinfonia No. 5 in E-flat Major, BWV 791

BACH Fugue No. 20 in A Minor BWV 889 from The Well Tempered Clavier, Book 2

“Breeze with Flowers” and “Garden”
JANÁCEK “A Blown Away Leaf” from On an Overgrown Path

JANÁCEK No. 4 (Presto) from In the Mists

“Beethoven Reinvents the Species Again”
BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major, Op. 101

Additional readings tba.  Program subject to change.

View Program Notes

Plan Your Visit

Get directions, see parking and accessibility info, download a seating charts, and more.

Learn More

Discover More Like This