Event stream will begin

Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Mitsuko Uchida, Piano/Director


Thursday, March 26, 2020, 8:00 PM EDT


Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall

Concert Classics Series

About the Event

When composer Gustav Mahler came to Princeton University Concerts in 1911 conducting what is now the New York Philharmonic, this concert was one of many on the series by the world’s greatest orchestras at the time. His namesake orchestra was formed in 1997 by Claudio Abbado with a new tradition of orchestral playing in mind: as a nomadic, self-governing ensemble that translates a full orchestral sound into the intimacy of chamber music. Their long-term partnership with legendary pianist Mitsuko Uchida—one of the greatest living interpreters of Mozart’s keyboard music—is a gift that keeps on giving. It is a true privilege to hear this fusion of artists who breathe new life into every note that they play on our stage, just a few days before they continue their American tour at Carnegie Hall.

Read More About Event


Due to the developing COVID-19 (coronavirus) epidemic, Princeton University is implementing policies to ensure the health and safety of the community by temporarily discouraging gatherings of large groups of people in close proximity between now and April 5, 2020. In accordance with the university’s decision, Princeton University Concerts regrets to announce that the upcoming performance of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra on Thursday, March 26, 2020 has been canceled. CLICK HERE FOR A MESSAGE FROM THE MAHLER CHAMBER ORCHESTRA TO PRINCETON AUDIENCES>

We will continue to monitor the evolving situation as it impacts the remaining events in our 2019-2020 season. We have no doubt that the life-long love of music that we all share will continue to bring us together before long.

This outbreak has already caused significant financial impact on artists and arts presenters around the world. While all ticketholders are entitled to a full refund, please consider donating your ticket(s) as a charitable, tax-deductible gift to PUC. Let us know if you would like to donate your tickets or to receive a refund by submitting this form, contacting our office by phone 609.258.2800 (M–F, 10AM–4PM), or emailing us by Friday, March 20.

As this situation evolves, continuing updates will be available for the university community here.

Thank you for your patience and understanding! Stay healthy!



MOZART  Piano Concerto No.17 in G Major, K. 453
JÖRG WIDMANN Choralquartett (arr. Jörg Widmann)
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 22 in E-flat Major, K. 482

Meesun Hong Coleman, Concertmaster / Leader

Plan Your Visit

Get directions, see parking and accessibility info, download a seating charts, and more.

Learn More

Discover More Like This