Event stream will begin

Jerusalem String Quartet with special guests Pinchas Zukerman, Viola and Amanda Forsyth, Cello


Thursday, October 11, 2018, 8:00 PM EDT


Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall


Tickets are sold out. Returned tickets may be available for purchase at the door beginning 6:15 PM.

Concert Classics Series

About the Event

All of the best things in life begin with friends and family, and our 125th season is no exception. We’ll kick things off by bringing back the acclaimed Jerusalem String Quartet after a six-year hiatus – but they won’t be coming alone. They’ll be bringing their longtime friend and mentor, legendary violist Pinchas Zukerman, and his wife, cellist Amanda Forsyth. Together, these old acquaintances will offer a program of rarely heard, richly expressive works. The season will saunter out of the gate to the aristocratic overtones of Strauss’ faux-Rococo sextet from his opera Capriccio, before shifting the mood to Schoenberg’s transfixing, transcendent “Transfigured Night.” The concert will end on a bittersweet note with Tchaikovsky’s touchingly nostalgic “Souvenir de Florence.”

Read More About Event


RICHARD STRAUSS String Sextet Op. 85 from Capriccio
ARNOLD SCHOENBERG String Sextet Op. 4, “Verklärte Nacht”
PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY String Sextet Op. 70, “Souvenir de Florence”

View Program Notes

Plan Your Visit

Get directions, see parking and accessibility info, download a seating charts, and more.

Learn More

Discover More Like This