Event stream will begin

Isabelle Faust, Violin
Jean-Guihen Queyras, Cello
Alexander Melnikov, Piano


Thursday, February 6, 2020, 8:00 PM EST


Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall


Full view tickets are sold out.  Partial view tickets may be purchased by calling the Frist Box Office at 609-258-9220.  They are open 12:00PM to 4:00PM Monday through Friday.

Concert Classics Series

About the Event

Exploring the works of a single composer has become a specialty for PUC. In 2016, Alexander Melnikov made a jaw-dropping debut playing Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes & Fugues; a few months later, Isabelle Faust played an unforgettable recital of J.S. Bach’s complete violin sonatas and partitas in the Princeton University Chapel. To help us celebrate Beethoven’s 250th birthday, these renowned soloists return for a rare joint appearance together with their dear friend and cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras. Their uplifting program is a remarkable opportunity to immerse in the composer’s piano trios. While these works are often overshadowed by his monumental string quartets, the virtuosity and expanse of Beethoven’s piano trios revolutionized this genre. The “Archduke” trio remains one of the absolute pinnacles of the repertoire—its brilliance, power, and joy well matched to the musicians who will perform it.

Read More About Event


All Beethoven

“Kakadu” Variations, Op. 121a in G Major
Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 70, No. 2
Trio in B-flat Major, Op. 97 “Archduke”

View Program Notes

Plan Your Visit

Get directions, see parking and accessibility info, download a seating charts, and more.

Learn More

Discover More Like This