Event stream will begin

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center


Thursday, October 10, 2019, 8:00 PM EDT


Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall


$25-55 General / $10 Students (with valid ID)

Concert Classics Series

About the Event

We begin 126 years ago and 910 miles away in the small town of Spillville, Iowa. Just as Princeton University Concerts is born, Czech composer Antonín Dvořák composes his String Quintet, Op. 97 in American farm-country. Drawing on folk tunes and spirituals—many of which he learned from his assistant, African-American composer Harry T. Burleigh—Dvořák set the stage for a new tradition of “American music.”

Hear this lineage evolve in a program also featuring Leonard Bernstein’s very first published work, and culminating in one of the most beloved American masterpieces: Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring, in its original instrumentation. As a pupil of Dvořák’s student, Copland wrote this music for Martha Graham’s ballet celebrating American pioneers.

We invite you to come celebrate the frontier of our rich cultural history as together we launch our 126th season!

Read More About Event



Wu Han and David Finckel, Artistic Directors


HARRY T. BURLEIGH Southland Sketches
DVOŘÁK Quintet for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello in E-flat Major, Op. 97
BERNSTEIN Clarinet Sonata
COPLAND Appalachian Spring Suite for Ensemble


Gloria Chien, Piano  I  Chad Hoopes, Kristin Lee, Arnaud Sussmann, Angelo Xiang Yu, Violin  I  Matthew Lipman, Paul Neubauer, Viola  I  Nicholas Canellakis, David Finckel, Cello  I Anthony Manzo, Bass  I  Ransom Wilson, Flute  I  David Shifrin, Clarinet  I  Marc Goldberg, Bassoon

View Program Notes

Plan Your Visit

Get directions, see parking and accessibility info, download a seating charts, and more.

Learn More

Discover More Like This