Event stream will begin

Australian Chamber Orchestra, Richard Tognetti, Conductor with Charles Neidich, Clarinet


Thursday, April 16, 2015, 8:00 PM EDT


Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall


Single tickets: $45, $35, $20.

Tickets are no longer available online. Very few tickets remain. Please call the Frist Campus Center box office at 609-258-9220 for tickets. They are open Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM.

Concert Classics Series

About the Event

Hip, refreshing and brilliant, the Australian Chamber Orchestra has been called “a badass classical band” by Time Out New York while The Washington Post hails them for combining “the energy and vibe of a rock band with the ability of a crack classical chamber group.” Their instruments alone represent an all-star lineup, including the legendary 1743 Carrodus Guarneri del Gesù violin; the Carrodus made by del Gesù, called one of the four or five of the finest violins in the world; a 1759 Guadagnini; a 1728/9 Strad; and a 1729 Giuseppe Guarneri filius Andreæ cello. But it’s the way these virtuosi play their extraordinary instruments that makes them a Dream Team. At Princeton they’ll premiere Water by Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood. Following his latest international tour with legendary band Radiohead, Greenwood joined the ACO in the studio writing this new work. One of the world’s greatest guitarists, Greenwood also writes great orchestral music. He composed the award-winning film score for There Will Be Blood, was composer-in-residence with the BBC Concert Orchestra and has written scores for films The Master, Norwegian Wood and We Need to Talk About Kevin.The Orchestra will also team up with clarinetist Charles Neidich (who recently stepped in for Martin Fröst who was forced to cancel due to a shoulder injury).  In the words of The New Yorker, Charles Neidich “is an artist of uncommon merit — a master of his instrument and, beyond that, an interpreter who keeps listeners hanging on each phrase.”  To read more about the new work by Jonny Greenwood, click here.

Read More About Event


PROKOFIEV/BARSHAI Visions fugitives
MOZART Clarinet Concerto in A Major, K. 622
JONNY GREENWOOD Water (Princeton Premiere)
MOZART Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, K. 550

View Program Notes

Plan Your Visit

Get directions, see parking and accessibility info, download a seating charts, and more.

Learn More

Discover More Like This