Event stream will begin

Artemis String Quartet


Thursday, April 5, 2018, 8:00 PM EDT


Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall


This concert is available as part of the Concert Classics Series, or as an event in a Make Your Own subscription. For more information, call our office at 609-258-2800.  Single tickets are now on sale by clicking the link below or by calling the Box Office at 609-258-9220.

Concert Classics Series

About the Event

Since their formation in Lübeck, Germany in 1989, the Artemis Quartet has steadily risen to the top tier of European chamber music, hosting regular series in Vienna, Berlin, and Amsterdam that have achieved legendary status. Passion, power, and harnessed-chaos are the hallmarks of their style. The New York Times described a recent concert at Carnegie Hall as “a warm, alert performance, shivering with energy even in its silences.” They return to Princeton after a tremendous 2013 performance, bringing with them a new second violinist and a varied program of masterworks. Mozart’s K. 590 String Quartet, his last, is weightless and shimmering. Schumann’s Quartet Op. 41, No. 3, also his last, opens with a two-note downward-falling motif tenderly set to the lyric “Clara,” his wife. In between is Shostakovich’s hugely popular String Quartet No. 7, which clocks in at a slim thirteen minutes and is equal parts sardonic and heartbreakingly sincere.

Read More About Event


MOZART String Quartet No. 23 in F Major, K. 590
SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No. 7 in F-sharp Minor, Op. 108
SCHUMANN String Quartet in A Major, Op. 41, No. 3

View Program Notes

Plan Your Visit

Get directions, see parking and accessibility info, download a seating charts, and more.

Learn More

Discover More Like This