Event stream will begin

Takács String Quartet
Sir Stephen Hough, Piano

Princeton University Concerts Debut


Thursday, February 20, 2025, 7:30 PM EST


Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall


This event is currently available as part of a Curated Subscription, Make-Your-Own Series, or Princeton University Student Early Bird program. Buy Now>
Single Tickets go on sale on Monday, August 5 at noon (Eastern time).


Purchase this event at a discount as part of a curated subscription or make-your-own series package.


Classical music doesn’t get much more life-enhancing than this.”

—The Guardian

Concert Classics Series

About the Event

A long-anticipated return by the beloved Takács Quartet also serves as the debut of legendary pianist and composer Sir Stephen Hough. These revered musicians combine forces in a work often referred to as the pinnacle of Brahms’ chamber music: his fiery Piano Quintet, Op. 34. In addition to a string quartet by Beethoven, allegedly inspired by Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, the program also includes a new string quartet written by Hough for the Takács Quartet.

Read More About Event


Edward Dusinberre, Harumi Rhodes Violins

Richard O’Neill Viola

András Fejér Cello


  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    String Quartet in F Major, Op. 18, No. 1

  • Stephen Hough

    Les Six Rencontres

  • Johannes Brahms

    Quintet in F Minor for Piano and Strings, Op. 34

Discover More Like This