This event is sold out. Turned back tickets will be made available at 11am daily and 45 minutes before the event at the box office. Please call 609-258-2800 for more information.

Hélène Grimaud, Piano

Princeton University Concerts Debut


Wednesday, January 24, 2024, 7:30 PM EST


Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall


General: $30-$50 | Student: $10 | Princeton University Student: Free through Passport to the Arts.

…bold, daring, beautiful, and intelligent. It is rare today to experience a performance that is like no other. Grimaud’s recital was just that.”

—Forbes Magazine

Concert Classics Plus Series

Paderewski Memorial Concert

About the Event

One of the most remarkable individuals of our time, pianist Hélène Grimaud is as renowned for her heartfelt, poetic interpretations and dazzling technical prowess as she is for her profound work as a conservationist and human rights activist—distinctions for which she received the Ordre National de la Légion d’Honneur, France’s highest order of merit. She is an artist who defies all categorization, and fittingly brings a program that celebrates the unexpected for her long-awaited PUC debut—Beethoven’s most intimate yet revolutionary Sonata Op. 109, and Busoni’s transformative transcription of Bach’s beloved Chaconne, intended to “remove the dust of tradition.” At the core of the program are two pillars of the piano repertoire by Brahms, a composer especially close to Grimaud’s heart for his ability to, in her words, “always create a moment when time stops.” We have no doubt that she will cast her own timeless spell through every note of this unmissable recital, sharing her trademark ability to make these familiar works sound new once more.

Read More About Event


  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Sonata No. 30, Op. 109

  • Johannes Brahms

    Intermezzi, Op. 117
    Fantasies, Op. 116

  • J.S.Bach arr. Ferruccio Busoni

    Chaconne from Partita No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004


    Études Tableaux Op. 33: No. 2 in C Major (Allegro) & No. 3 in C Minor (Grave)
    Bagatelles Op. 1: No. 2 in E Minor (Moderato “Lontano”)

View Digital Program

Discover More Like This